Well, I am rather lost for words. I’ll start with thankfulness. I am thankful. I am thankful that I made it through this last year. I am thankful to be living with my grandmother. I am thankful that my friends love and care for me. I am thankful for second chances. When Wilberforce proposed this blog to me, I was not sure if I would have anything to write about; but then I began brainstorming, and the possibilities were endless. We are still very young, but we both have been through difficulties and triumphs. The more I’ve thought about it, the more I realize that writing about re-discovering passions will be a very beautiful form of rebirth. I got to a point this year where I stopped caring and became numb, but that’s not who I want to be. “There is nothing new under the sun,” (Ecc. 1:9) says the scholar, but I am determined to squeeze the joy out of this life and wring it for all it’s worth. I do not want to mope and hide and wither.

Well, enough abstract thought. There are four areas of my life that are the most important to me concerning re-discovery: faith, love, career, and family/friends. I am in the process of testing out love again (No worries Wilberforce; I won’t go too fast), and I am also learning to pray again. I will most likely have to go to college again for my career, and I am picking up old roots with my friends and family in the Western United States, while trying to keep my ties with the Mid-west. I think many people our age (20s) have had the experience of having to start over again, sometimes completely from scratch. It is one of the most frustrating experiences, because it is easy to feel like a failure. I wanted to be the exception. I wanted to be the one who never changed my major, who didn’t have a broken heart, who could strike out on her own, and who could never lose faith in God. But the reality is that none of those things are true. I am not the exception. I believe I am the norm. Or at least one kind of norm. And that’s okay. Pick up the pieces, try again, and have faith. That is where I am right now.

-Dawn

