An introduction is the best and the worst. It’s the best because it lets you know what the game plan is and gives you a taste of what’s to come. It’s the worst because no one actually wants to take the time to read one.

Or, in my case, write one.

How does one introduce oneself? What can I say? My name is Wilberforce, a.k.a. Wilber. At least, that’s who I am to this blog. I’m into books, writing, history, Harry Potter, LOTR, all things British, memes, and . . . I’m still figuring out what else.

After being a student for [literally] 80% of my life, I have found out that I have lost sight of a lot of things that were important to me, things that once made up my identity. For so long I have been called the “perpetual student”: everything was about school. All my hopes, dreams, goals were somehow tied to my education and school plan. Then something happened. One day I opened my eyes and realized that I don’t actually want to be a professional academic, which was the course that I found myself on. I want to be attached to education somehow, some way, because it is a field that I feel passionately about, but I don’t want academics to be the be-all, end-all of my life. So, I decided that I would temporarily stop my education after my Master’s degree while I figure things out and enjoy life without the perpetually looming due dates and stressful all-night study sessions. And now that I am no longer in school, I am trying to figure out other things besides my education that make me who I am.

The point being in all this is that I am no longer just the “perpetual student” that I have been labeled by so many friends and family members. I’m something else, and I’m still trying to figure out who that is. But at least I’ve begun the journey.

-Wilber

