Don’t hate me, but I didn’t finish my February book.

I know, I know: I chose a young adult book so that I would actually be able to finish it in 28 days. I chose a young adult book that, for all accounts and purposes, is a fast read. So why didn’t I finish it? For the same reason why I have this reading challenge to begin with: I lost focus.

2ou30mdtsey-giulia-bertelli

I got distracted by life. I have a wonderful partner who I have been enjoying spending time with. I’ve actually been trying to participate in life by going out and about, spending time with friends. I’ve been trying to write again, watch old movies again. And, if I’m being honest, I didn’t read Ender’s Game because I am inherently stubborn.

We all have those moments, don’t we? Those moments where we absolutely rebel against what everyone tells us we should be doing (or reading or watching or listening to). I believe the full sentiment is something like “I don’ wanna!”

For me, it seems that the more people tell me that I’ll like something, the less likely it is that I will read/watch/listen to/do the thing. If one or two people tell me, then it’s fine, but for some reason when I know that a lot of people think that I should like something or do something, my motivation goes out the window. Example: Game of Thrones, both the books and the show. I kinda want to read the books and watch the show, but because so many people have told me that I’d like them, I have zero motivation to do so.

And that’s what happened with Ender’s Game. I have had the intention of reading it for a while, but was initially put off by so many people recommending it to me. I finally thought that I could move past that and actually read it, but then everyone jumped up again and was singing the book’s praises.

And there went my motivation.

So I didn’t finish Ender’s Game. Heck, I didn’t even get through half the book. More like a third. I will say that the third that I did read was very good, that I understand the hype around the book. I just can’t finish it right now.

Instead, I started reaching March’s book: Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes. This is a book that I’ve wanted to read for the last year and a half or so. So far, I’m loving the prose and the way the story weaves in and out. And I’m hoping that, since no one has really told me to read this book, my personal interest will hold my motivation and attention captive long enough for me to finish it.

I still plan on finishing Ender’s Game, though, never fear! I’m just going to go for the books that I want to read first. I guess I’m re-learning how to prioritize things like that.

-Wilber

 

