You know that dizzying feeling you get when you’re on a high place? Or maybe it’s that strange off-balance feeling you get when you stand up too quickly, climb stairs, or any number of things? That’s what is known as vertigo. Vertigo tends to remind people of one of two things: the medical condition, or Alfred Hitchcock’s famous film.

Vertigo is one of three Hitchcock films that I have had the pleasure of watching lately as part of my classic film rediscovery project. Vertigo I had, admittedly, seen as a child, but it seemed a shoe-in for my lineup, matching up with Rear Window (also starring Jimmy Stewart) and Suspicion (Cary Grant and Joan Fontaine, be still my heart!).

Needless to say, I have been really enjoying checking films off my classic movie list. Rear Window has moved to the top of my thriller favorites, thanks to Grace Kelly and Jimmy Stewart slowly building the tension until all hell breaks loose. Suspicion has also climbed my ratings list into my top 5 Cary Grant films (up there with Arsenic and Old Lace, Operation Petticoat, and An Affair to Remember). Hitchcock, of course, worked magic on these films, using color and side stories and fantastic scripts to turn these movies into something special.

After watching these three back-to-back (what can I say? I was on a roll), I have decided I need to add more Hitchcock films to my classic movie list. North by Northwest, Strangers on a Train, Shadow of a Doubt, The 39 Steps, and The Trouble with Harry are now officially on the roster And considering how into Hitchcock I currently am, I might be checking them off sooner rather than later.

However, before I watch any more of Hitchcock’s films, I have decided to watch three non-Hitchcock movies from my list. Because balance and all that. Updates to follow!

-Wilber

