What follows is a list of 20 facts about Wilberforce in no particular order, in order to fulfill day 2 of the 30 Day Challenge.

  1.  Je parle un peu francaise. (I speak a little French.) It’s not enough to really get by on, but enough to count for my read/write a second language requirement for my Master’s Degree.
  2. I have a Master’s Degree in History. Specifically, I studied medieval and Renaissance European history, with a second focus on early modern European history. I particularly specialize in British history in this time period (which, according to the eras in the name of my degree, ranges from approximately 900-1730).
  3. I can name the rulers of England by memory from Edward III to Queen Anne. This fact is a lot more impressive in person than it is over text, so I’m not going to bother listing them.
  4. I have read the Lord of the Rings trilogy 11 complete times. Currently, I am on my twelfth time through. I have lost count of the number of times that I have read The Hobbit. Haters, back off!
  5. My father was very protective of me with matches. He was so afraid that I’d play with matches when I was little that he wouldn’t even let me touch a matchbook. As a result, I was unable to light a match until my junior year in high school and I still have a difficult time with matches. Sometimes.
  6. I acted in two school plays in high school: I was Mole from “The Wind in the Willows” and Marilla in “Anne of Green Gables,” both of which were books that I read growing up. Of the two roles, Marilla was my favorite because I could relate to her better than Mole, who felt too timid for me.
  7. One of my greatest guilty pleasures is watching proposal rejections on YouTube. What can I say? I’m a bit of a sadist.
  8. I am afraid of heights, but almost exclusively heights in/on man made objects. Put me on a mountain, and as long as I’m not on the edge of a precipice, I’m good. Put me in a skyscraper and I get iffy.
  9. I live with an old college friend at the moment (let’s call her Moose, or M for short), one of my best friends, and she is the best roommate I’ve ever had, bar none. Even though we are very different people (she’s an extrovert, I’m an introvert; she’s in the Sciences, I’m in the Humanities; she’s tomboy, I’m business professional; she thinks Lily didn’t deserve Snape, I think the opposite), we tend to balance each other out. We go on mini-adventures and divide the housework without even talking about it. And the biggest amazement? We’ve been living together for around 8 months and we haven’t had a domestic “discussion.” Not once. So, like I said, she’s the best roommate I’ve ever had, bar none.
  10. My favorite holiday is a tie between American Thanksgiving and Christmas. Thanksgiving is just a wonderful time to spend with friends and family (and TONS of food). Christmas, I enjoy the tradition behind all the little bits and bobs, and I love giving gifts to other people.
  11. I am the youngest child of two youngest children. My mother is the youngest of two, my dad is the youngest of five, and I am the youngest of three.
  12. One of my best friends from college, let’s call him Panda, became one of my best friends because we argued all the time. He was a young prodigy, 16 in college and trying to take on the world, but still very young in the way that he tried to relate to his fellow students. He put on a facade for everyone to make them think that he was overly intelligent, far beyond their understanding. I called his bullsh*t and because I called him out on it, we became friends. We still argue and call each other out on our bullsh*t. Our complete honesty with each other is the basis of our friendship.
  13. Another big fear that Ghost likes to make fun of in me and M is a fear of spiders. I can stand up for myself if I have to, but if someone braver is around, no way am I dealing with creepy crawlies. (When it’s only M and I around, I usually am forced to be the brave one. *shudder*)
  14. One of my favorite books in the world is one of the most difficult books I’ve ever read: Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.
  15. My favorite mythical creature is a dragon. Not the kitschy dragons, you understand, but the dragons of yore. Smaug and Toothless are wonderful, but it’s hard to beat the story of St. George of England or to forget the Dragon Emperors in China.
  16. One of my favorite places in the world is the family lake home. I am one of four daughters (me, L, and our two cousins on my mother’s side) that make up the fifth generation that will live at the lake house.
  17. Almost all of my favorite actors are British (Emma Watson, Emma Thompson, Maggie Smith, Hugh Laurie, Dame Judi Dench, Dame Helen Miren, Tom Hiddleston, Benedict Cumberbatch, Idris Elba, just to name a few), but I do have a special place in my heart for all the old actors from the Golden Age of Hollywood. Example: three of my biggest star crushes are Errol Flynn, Audrey Hepburn, and Steve McQueen. Hard to beat the masters!
  18. I haven’t had a single favorite color since the fifth grade. I have rotated between mostly cold colors since the sixth grade (blues, greens, purples), and currently prefer grey or black with pops of actual colors.
  19. Edinburgh is my favorite city in the world, closely followed by Duluth, Seattle, and London, not necessarily in that order. Other cities may apply.
  20. I took seven years of piano lessons and, while I don’t often have the opportunity to play, I still love sitting down at a piano and playing a tune or two, just for myself.

Well, I don’t know how interesting these facts are, but there you go. Hope you enjoyed!

-Wilber

