Today, I’m supposed to write about my relationship with the parental units.

Maybe I should give a little bit of a description, though, before talking about our relationships. My parents are both artists in different ways, both super involved in their rural Minnesota communities, and both well-loved by those communities (although my father is more well known than my mother). They work together on a videography and website business now, one in a long line of careers that they’ve both had, and I don’t know if I’ve ever seen them happier.

My father, out of my two parents, is the one that I have more difficulty getting along with. This is mostly because, at our core, we have very similar temperaments, especially with each other. My father had a tendency to snap at things that frustrate him, getting loud and obnoxious very quickly. I used to be like that, too, but I like to think I have better control of my temper now. (Note to self: ask mom.) This led to quite a few arguments together in middle and high school when I had hormones raging and he taught me at home.

Now that I no longer live with him, of course, we get along much better. We are both sarcastic, love to laugh, and love participating in our given communities. He is one of the first people I call when I need advice or perspective or need someone to listen to me. Of course, it depends on the subject.

My mother is the peacekeeper in the family. Ah, the number of family squabbles she has been able to end before they begun: it’s countless! Yet, because she’s usually so soft-spoken and peaceful in nature, when she gets annoyed or angry it’s as if the world stands still and birds do not dare to sing. It is with my mother that I tend to talk about natures of the heart. Whether that involves friends, Ghost, or faith, she is the one who I confide in.

I often say, and this is very true, that I want to be my mom when I grow up. She is so loving and level-headed (in most situations) that I can’t imagine anyone not liking her or her not liking them. I can only aspire to be like her.

Really, my parents are two of my best friends in the world. They have my best interest at heart, but they both have a tendency of letting me make my own decisions and trusting that I know what I’m doing. I know that this makes them very unique from most of my friends’ parents, who tend to double-question them about everything. I don’t want to let my parents down, though, and I’ll do everything I can to ensure that I will always have their trust.

-Wilber

