Some letters at the end of your name. I know that, in reality, that’s all that I’ll get at the end of a long time of hard work. PhD. Doctor. Are those little words really worth it?

Those are some of the thoughts that I have been muddling through in this last year. After being a student for approximately two decades of my life, this last year has given me a little bit of space to think about what I want and where I want to go.

No, I haven’t come up with anything definitive.

However, one thing has remained the same. Three years ago, I was determined that I would go on after my Master’s and earn my doctorate. One year ago, I doubted that I would ever go on to get my additional degree. Today, I think my first goal is a worthy one, one that I can aim for and accomplish.

-Wilber

 

