Apologies, everyone. The last week of April got away from me, so I wasn’t able to post on the last four days of my 30-day challenge. So, instead, I’m posting them now. Still hope you enjoy them!

Ask anyone: food is necessary for the human body to survive. Food can be a way of life for people (I’m thinking of chefs, foodies, food critics, and fans of your grandma’s secret pie recipe), while for others it is merely for sustenance. Either way, food is necessary.

That’s how I think about my faith. My faith is necessary for me to function as the person that I am, but the amount of time I devote to preparing my spiritual meals varies drastically.

I’ll be honest, most of the time I just eat for sustenance. I’ll enjoy the taste, of course, but the priority is that it is just getting me through the day. At the moment, that’s also how my faith is. It’s there, ever-present and shaping my identity as an individual and member of a larger group, but I haven’t been growing. I haven’t been pushing myself to think more about my faith or address some holes in how I apply my faith to my everyday life.

That isn’t so say, however, that faith isn’t an important part of my life. I honestly don’t know who I would be or how I would respond to certain situations if it were not for my faith. Like my need for food, my faith is part of my everyday life, even when I’m not consciously pursuing it.

My ability of love, to forgive is a major takeaway from my faith. I doubt I would be able to love as fully as I do, let alone be able to forgive as I have become apt to. But it’s more than that.

With my anxiety and overly-logical disposition, the world is a very bleak place. It’s hard to pull myself out of a funk or go through the motions of a regular, daily life sometimes. Why? Because, what’s the point? We’re all going to die, everyone is a liar, nothing lasts, and good seems eons away from human nature. My faith alleviates my realism and pessimism and gives me, instead, hope.

Hope for the future, hope for life as it is now, hope for truth to emerge, hope for legacies to be discovered and remembered, hope for good to prevail over evil.

Sure, my faith still needs to be challenged to grow and I need to be more proactive in practicing and learning about it (I’m working on it!), but the truth is that my faith is a big part of who I am and what I believe. And I would never change that, not for the world.

-Wilber

