I realized the other day when I was talked to Dawn that I haven’t given an update on my reading goal for a long time. As a recap: I completed January’s book, got tired of February’s, and started March’s. And that’s all you’ve been told so far.

March’s book was the prose collection of Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes. To be honest, I don’t really remember how this book turned out, but I do remember that I thoroughly enjoyed the artistry of the words as I FINISHED IT. That’s right: I finished my March book.

Can’t say that I managed to do that in April. April’s book was Irena’s Children: A True Story of Courage by Tilar J. Mazzeo. This is the story of Irena Sendler, a woman who helped save thousands of Jewish children during the Holocaust. My father gave me this book for Christmas and has asked me about it a couple times since, so I wanted to read it for my self-challenge. Well, I got about half-way in a month, but I didn’t complete it.

(I have found that history books are more challenging for me to read completely, particularly because I have spent the previous five years of my life reading little else, even though I thoroughly enjoy them. As a result, I am determined to finish this book, and am still picking away at it even as I continue with this month’s book.)

So, this month, I’m changing the pace. I asked Dawn if she thought rereading books would count, and with her blessing I have dove back into the lore of the Chronicles of Prydain. Specifically, I am reading The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander. For those of you who have never read these books, you should! It is high fantasy, telling of the adventures of Taran of Caer Dallben, Assistant Pig-Keeper, and his friends as they go from childhood to adulthood.

So far, I am already over halfway through the first book, and it is only a week into May! Shall we say, I’m slowly working my way back to my old reading speed and enjoyment of the activity.

-Wilber

