Dear Dawn,

Apparently, I have always been a procrastinator.

A good place to start would be from a recent discovery that I made of old poems written by mini-me when I was in first grade.

I’ve folded all my laundry

And put it in the drawer.

I’ve changed my linen

Made my bed,

And swept my bedroom floor.

 

I’ve emptied out the garbage and fixed tomorrow’s lunch.

I’ve baked some cookies for dessert

And given dad a munch.

 

I’ve searched the house for pencils

And sharpened every one.

There are so many things to do when homework must be done.

Apparently, if that poem is anything to judge by, I’ve always been a procrastinator. (There are other poems about my unwillingness to do homework, so there’s that, too.) Personally, I only remember a few times in elementary school that I didn’t want to put in the work on my schoolwork. When I reached middle and high school? Well, that’s something different.

Of course, I inherited quite a bit of the procrastinator gene from my father who has the marvelous ability to promise a favor to everybody and then be stretched too far so as to not be able to fulfill the majority in the time allotted to him. That being said, my father always does manage to keep all his promises. Maybe not in the time frame the other person wanted it to be done, but eventually.

And that is also the practice that I have.

I have a knack of prioritizing matters so well that I usually leave big projects undone up until the very last minute. Everything always manages to be done just on time, but no matter how structured I am in preparing to do things, I’m always working on it up to the last possible second.

I’m not saying this to brag about my abilities as a procrastinator, but rather to admit them out loud, because sometimes I need outside help to get me to overcome my lazy, procrastinating tendencies.

Procrastinating is a very stressful and unhealthy way of going about things. I fully realize that. And I am trying to get better at doing things in a timely manner instead of putting them off, but it’s difficult. Oh, so difficult! Which, in a way, is why this blog exists. To keep me accountable. To keep me sane and moving forward rather than lounging about, directionless.

Also to provide me with an outlet for proactive procrastination.

Did you know that was a thing? Proactive procrastination (also known as structured procrastination) allows you to put off doing something that you are dreading to do by doing something else that should get done. Even as I write this now, I am avoiding doing something that MUST be done, but at the same time, I’m doing something productive and positive instead of wasting my time in the deep, dark dregs of the internet.

I have admitted that I am a procrastinator extraordinaire, have always been one, and probably always will be. However, I am striving to grow and combat this identity, as seen by the fact that I am now ending this blog post to go do what MUST be done.

Wish me luck, dear. I need it.

Your Wilber

 

