An answer found on a scrap of paper. -Wilber

 

“Who am I?”

A simple enough question. Three words, all directed inward toward the speaker. Just three words. Who am I? I am myself. I’m no one else. I’m a daughter, a sister, a friend—hopefully a good one. I’m a good worker. I have ideas for my future and the future of my world. I am a Christian, a daughter of God. I am sarcastic, cynical, and difficult. I hate hypocrites because I am a hypocrite. I am a liar. I am lazy. But I try to get all my work done and do my best to be as honest as possible. I am a cat lover. I am a teacher. I love my students. I love my friends and family. I would do anything for them. I am quiet until you get to know me. I love laughing, but wish I could cry more. I don’t trust my emotions because I feel them so deeply. I am an academic, a reader, a historian, a writer. I’m a problem solver. I try to see people for who they are. I am centrist. I am opinionated. I am myself. I’m Wilber, and no other.

