Sometimes you just need to take a break, get out of town, do something new. Well, this coming weekend I’m going to be doing just that. Consider this your forewarning: I am taking a vacation.

It’s not that I have been busier lately than any other time, but for the last few months both myself and my roommate have been bitten with the desire to get away from our regular spots–both in daily life and our go-to weekend getaways. So, a change, however brief, was in order.

My roommate and I have been planning a weekend getaway together for the last few months, and we’re leaving everything behind for a few days. No boys, no work, no worries. Two months ago we reserved a place in Grand Marais (a beautiful town on the North Shore that is only a 30 minute drive from Canada), and this weekend we are going there. We are planning to go hiking, kayaking, and generally exploring.

This is a form of self-care that we both need, and I’m glad to do this with a friend. I’m not entirely sure what this little adventure has in store for us, but I know that it will leave me more refreshed and prepared to return to the real world.

-Wilber

