“…because you can’t tell ’em anything,” my dad finishes exclaiming, a grin the size of Texas spread across his face.

I roll my eyes. “You can try to change the rules all you like, Dad, but a city isn’t worth more than two points in Settlers of Catan!”

“Yes it is.”

“No it isn’t.”

“Sweetie, Wilber’s right,” Mom interjects, bringing another pot of tea to the table. “I think you’re getting it confused with another game.”

My dad frowns, an over-exaggerated frown that he uses when he’s only half-serious. “No! I’m never confused!”

I giggle. “No, I think Mom’s right, Dad. You’re probably thinking of Castles and Knights or the Seafarers versions. You played those with Donna and Richie, right?”

He pauses, genuine surprise and shock breaking through his joking exterior. “They have the Castles and Knights version?”

Mom and I look at each other before simultaneously burst out laughing.

Dad frowns, looking from one to the other of us. “What?”

“You always do this, Dad.”

“Do what?”

“Say that I’m stubborn for sticking to rules that you’ve forgotten about.”

“I never forget everything! I don’t know what you’re talking about!”

“Whatever you say, Dear,” my mom says with a sigh and a secret smile just for the two of us.

