It drives me crazy when Ghostwheel is with me and he just pulls out his phone and stares at the screen. I hate it that when there is a lull in our conversation, Moose is likely to pull out her phone and start scrolling through Reddit. I despise it when my father, who was so anti-technology when I first got a phone in high school, pulls out his iPad while we’re watching a movie together in the living room. I loathe it when my sister L takes out her phone to Instagram a meal before eating it when we go out to eat together. And you know what I dislike most of all? I’m guilty of it all, too.

 It has become so easy, living life through a screen. Easy to the point that when out doing new things, my friends are likely to be looking at our surroundings through the camera lens on their phone and not taking in all the intricacies that only the human eye and memory can take in.

Yes, I’m guilty of this, too, but I usually make it a habit to try to enjoy what is going on around me before (or instead of) taking pictures, tweeting, posting, or other interactions via social media. I’m not one for selfies, and I’m not one who likes to be in pictures, something that drives friends like Mer, Moose, and Dawn a little crazy when we go out together.

Why am I talking about this now? Because I feel like I’m starting to live attached to a screen too much. Whether that screen is the monitor at work, the phone on my breaks, my boyfriend’s computer when we’re playing PC games, Moose’s TV when we’re playing console games, or my own TV when I’m watching movies…it feels like that is the scope of my world, how I’m comprehending life around me these days. And I don’t like it.

I’ve been longing to go tech-free for a weekend for quite some time. I even did research into different retreat locations, and I think I’ve found one that fits me and my needs to regroup, refocus, rediscover.

Perhaps now is the time to plan another little escape from reality, but this time I’ll escape more completely.

-Wilber

