I am officially a quarter of a century. Im 25 years old. No, 25 is not an old age to be, but it still catches both me and my extended family off guard as being too high. It also catches my friends off guard as being lower than they expected. I guess my demeanor is older than my age.

Being 25, though, I thought I’d take a look at everything that has happened in the world during my life so far.

I have seen the technology boom into the world. There have been 5 presidents of the U.S. in office in that time, one of them making history as the first person of color in that office. The continuation of inequality in the forms of racism, sexism, and more have come to the forefront in recent years. The Twin Towers fell, triggering the War in Iraq and the War Against Terror. Terrorism as a whole has plagued the world, and international incidents have become more and more visible for the entire world to comment on.

In response to all of the negatives, however, the push for equality and social justice has become all the greater. Charities have spread worldwide. “Feminism,” “freedom,” and “equality” have become buzzwords in everyday conversation. People have made strides in eliminating racism, gender inequality, and freedom of marriage, even though there is still a lot more work to be done. The rising generation of millennials have been more active in and vocal about the world they are inheriting. Looking at statistics, the world is safer now than it has ever been, and is steadily becoming safer as more and more people fight to make their voices heard.

Personally, after 25 years I have quite the list of things going for me. I have four degrees to my name, studied in Oxford, published a poem, love a man, have friends around the world, and dreams that may or may not come to pass in the next decade. Not all my years have been easy, and not all my experiences have been good, but, on a whole, I would say that this first quarter of a century under my belt has been a good one. I can’t wait to see what my next quarter will be like!

-Wilber

