Last week I received an IM from a friend I hadn’t heard from in a long time: Jack Hanke, one of the fun comedians in the New York Times reviewed troupe, Asberger’s Are Us. What did Jack want to know? If I wanted to attend the one-night only show in Minneapolis that they were doing.

My answer? Of course!

So, Ghostwheel and myself went to Brave New Workshop in downtown Minneapolis Sunday night and enjoyed the full, brilliant experience of seeing Asberger’s Are Us perform. And, oh my goodness, did we enjoy it!

I don’t want to say too much because nothing is ruined with spoilers as much as comedy, but suffice it to say that it was wonderful! The bits were original, quirky, intellectual, and full of cultural references. The audience wasn’t always quick to pick up on the humor, but with such an unconventional show, I couldn’t blame them. Nevertheless, it was clear by the long string of audience members after the show waiting for autographs that there was something special going on with that performance.

Having multiple friends who fall somewhere on the autism spectrum, plus working with different programs in multiple fields that seek to bridge things that divide us (including “disabilities”), I love the fact that these guys are doing what they’re doing. And before I go on any further, I have to explain: they aren’t doing this to make a statement, to preach, or to uplift others. They created this comedy troupe for themselves and their own pleasure. And that is what I find the most inspiring.

Here are four young men that are pursuing their passions and dreams. What more could any of us ask for in this life, no matter who we are? I think that by simply living their lives and being themselves, they are doing more to break down stereotypes about AS and autism than by standing on a soapbox and preaching about it, although I fully recognize that that is just my able-bodied perception.

I hope to see them perform in the Twin Cities again someday, if only to be dosed with the uplifting thought that anyone can pursue their goals.

-Wilber

