As you may know by my numbered blog posts, my co-Rediscovery101 blogger, Wilberforced and I were partaking in a a blog-a-day challenge for the month of April. Initially, I was excited and was like, “Yeah, I’ll do this with you! Why not?” but later on I realized just how much of a commitment this was. I would write blog posts ahead of time to be scheduled on days I knew it would highly be unlikely for me to complete a post (i.e. Easter Sunday, the day I moved to Montana, etc.) I also have back-timed a few posts as I have gotten back from events or hanging out with people late and I wouldn’t start working on the blog-post past midnight. A couple of times, I was merely too exhausted or had a bad headache so I released two posts in the same day but back-timed one of the posts.

So would I do this again (an everyday blog post for 30 days?) ummmmm…… it depends on what stage of life I am. If I am working and taking college classes for my Bachelor’s degree probably not…. If I am working full-time and have kids, probably not, but we’ll see. As I was relatively new to the blog with the time-frame of doing the 30 day Challenge( I had only had 4-5 posts before the Challenge), I had a lot to share. Plus, I was moving to Montana so it was a new adjustment in my life-lots to write about with my transition. I feel as if I spilled out much of my childhood through this Challenge (Minnesota State Parks, frontier forts, and, top 7 countries on my European Whirl Tour and favorite vacation-reunion posts as well as the post on my sister, Beak).

Some pros of this Challenge include establishing a habit of writing every day. I also pushed myself to write more poem/narratives in a month than I have ever done, which is a good thing as I wanted to be writing more of those anyway. Even though it was online, it was shared comraderie with my fellow blogger, Wilberforced as we were completing this challenge together. I would enjoy reading her blog posts every morning and see how some of our topics for our blogs were similar or how we would both have writer’s block around the same time. I honestly had to google writing prompts and blog writing prompts as I was running out of ideas. One of the best list of blog writing prompts I found was an online article entitled, “500 Prompts for Narrative and Personal Writing” in the New York Times by Michael Gonchar. There are 29 different categories of topics in this article.

Although this Challenge was arduous and I was stressed and wondering why I had joined, I am overall glad I signed up with this Challenge with my partner Wilberforced. It was a good exercise in writing and research (some of the blog posts, although personal took 2-3 hours to complete-due to family and historical research to make sure my facts were right.) but was also cathartic for some of the posts. Thank you, Wilberforced for persevering through it with me! I don’t think I would have made it on my own.